Situated on No. 1008, Middle Huaihai Rd., Xiangyang Park covers an area of 22,066 square meters.
There were farmlands and tombs on the former site of Xiangyang Park, including the tomb of Xue Baocheng, a famous paint tycoon of Jiangyin (Jiangsu Province). In 1938, Conseil Municipal of the French Concession purchased the land and planned to buld office building here. However, the plan was suspended for the French Government surrendered to Germany in June, 1940. In 1941, Conseil Municipal decided to build a Children's playground here but received strong protest from Chinese people. Hence, the park was opened to the public on Jan 30, 1942. In honor of Lan Weina, a diplomat for Consulate General of the Republic of France in Shanghai who fell in the battle of Anti-German War in 1939, the park was named Lan Weina Park, also called Dumet Park. It was renamed Taishan Park in 1943 and Linsen Park in 1946 after the triumph of Anti-Japanese War. On May 28, 1950, it was renamed Xiangyang Park.
Taking tree hedges as partitions, regular layout and natural arrangements for impressive sceneries for the visitors. A French-style boulevard stands with phoenix trees on both sides, symmetry parterres, zigzagging wide corridors and cleverly-arranged planting plots present visitors from all over the world a charming French-style park. You can enjoy the beauty of every season with cherry blossom, camellia, azalea, begonia, everflowing rose and other 100 flowers and trees in Xiangyang Park.